Book Review: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater



Title: The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Daniela’s rating: 5 stars

Daniela’s review

I can’t believe it’s over.

My beloved characters, my magical Henrietta, my impossible Cabeswater.

It’s over.

If anyone asks me, I will always say that this is one of my absolute favorite series. No doubt, no need to think about it. This is it. Everything described in these books, the feelings, the places, the characters… Everything in these books is just what I’m looking for in a story.

This is the last book of The Raven Cycle and I swear, when I finished The Raven King, I stayed on my bed, looking at the ceiling, wondering what I was going to do now. I’ve been waiting for this book for a year and it was everything I was hoping for. I’ll admit, it is not my favorite of the series, but I can’t possibly say that I didn’t like it or didn’t enjoy it, or didn’t think it was perfect. It was. It was the perfect end for this story that I love so much. Of course, I would’ve rather it never ended, but sadly that’s not my decision to make.

A couple of days before I started reading this book, I read this blog post Maggie shared on her facebook page. She said she wanted readers to want more, after the story ended. I need more. This story has always given me this incredible space that offers something more and now that I don’t have it, it feels like part of me is missing, you know? It’s amazing, how a book can do that to you. Every day I’m not in this fantastic Raven world, I’ll miss it. Thank god I can go back to it any time I want.

If you’ve read the previous books, you have to agree that the magic presented in this story is well beyond amazing. Everything seems possible in a way that I’ve never read before. I swear, it’s unbelievable. Maggie Stiefvater is a genius when it comes to creating deep and beautiful characters, and stories that are intense and so damn perfect.

The relationships. Each connection between the characters has its own intensity and Maggie makes so that you are part of each of them. You get involved in these friendships and romance and you feel their anger, their excitement, their love, their loyalty. It’s unbelievable. I can’t really explain how much I love these characters, as a whole and as individuals. They each have something beautiful to give to the story.

The places. Henrietta is a place so full of intense magic. Everything is possible, even the impossible. This is a place where magic happens every day and you just want to be a part of it. The details given in the story about Henrietta’s streets and everything that makes it real, is just perfect. The caves are creepy and scary and magical. The streets are full of possibilities. Everything is full of possibilities.

Cabeswater. Cabeswater has an intensity on its own. This place is magical in a way I had never read before and I swear, if I could go there, even if it’s just for a couple of minutes, it would be the best day of my life. This place, this magnificent place, created a bond between the characters and the first itself, one that couldn’t be broken with anything. No matter what, they were loyal to this magical place. I loved that.

The characters. Have you ever loved characters so much, that you just want to read their story again and again? I feel this way towards these characters. I’ve read their story several times now and I never get tired, I can’t get enough of them. The way I felt in the first book towards Gansey intensified with each book. His mind works in a way I’ve rarely read about and his heart beats in this beautiful way that makes me want to hold him forever. Blue is just incredibly smart and amazing. Her uniqueness makes her special in ways I didn’t know were possible. Ronan and his attitude. He’s a troubled boy with a beautiful mind. He creates even when he thinks all he can do is destroy. He’s a magnificent creature. Noah. I can’t even begin to describe how much I adore him. And Adam. He wasn’t an easy character for me to like, but incredibly so, I ended up loving him. I loved seeing him grow in these last two books, and I have Maggie to thank for that.

The villains in this story are something different. They each have their own agenda and they’ll do pretty much everything. But what they don’t know is that this wonderful people have a kind of magic that supports and protects them.

Now, about the story itself. This is a true Maggie Stiefvater book. If you’ve read the previous books in the series, you’ll know by now that her stories are deep and you need to pay attention to every single detail, because every single one of them is there for a reason. You may not understand it right away, but you will, later on. In this case, the story was a bit slow at first, but you must understand that’s just her way. Everything is carefully explained and well thought. At the end, the pace picked up, and everything started to go down and up very fast. I do have a couple of wishes.

  1. I wish I had more Gansey and Blue, but of course, I don’t think there will ever be enough Gansey and Blue.
  2. I wish for more Noah.
  3. I wish the last parts of the book were a bit slower and more detailed. That everything regarding Gansey and Blue and Cabeswater had a bit of that “something more”.
  4. I wish Henry wasn’t so annoying.
  5. I wish for more Mr. Gray and Maura.

I’ll admit, I did end up with a couple of questions, but even so, I felt this book was the perfect closure. Even though I have these questions, they’re not enough for me to say I didn’t like or didn’t enjoy the book, because I believe Maggie left them for us, the readers, to interpret them as we see fit. She’s giving us the chance to add something more to this amazing ending she gave us. I think Maggie did a wonderful and perfect and great work with this book.

I love these Raven boys. My Raven boys. I will miss you, but I’ll meet you again. That, I promise.



More about lostinabookblog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.